IIEST, Shibpur

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur

(Formerly Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur)

Empowering the nation since 1856

Admission to Integrated Dual Degree (BTech-MTech) Programme

The University, under the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, offers undergraduate programmes leading to B.E./B.Arch. Degree in ten disciplines as listed below:

  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Architecture
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science & Technology
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgy and Materials Engineering
  • Mining Engineering

The duration of all regular UG course of study is 4 years (8 semesters) except Architecture which takes 5 years (10 Semesters). Currently the total UG intake is little more than 500 per annum.

All UG programmes, except Architecture, are AICTE approved and NBA accredited. The course on Architecture is approved by the Council of Architecture (COA).

The UG programmes are supported by the different departments (Physics, Chemistry, Earth Sciences Mathematics, and Humanities) under the Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences and the Faculty of Management and Social Sciences. These departments offer PG and Doctoral programmes only.

Admission to all UG courses are done through the WB-JEE (for Architecture an added requirement is the NATA examination) in the 1st semester. Five percent of the total seats are filled-in from Lateral Entry candidates in the 3rd semester through JELET. A few seats are available for the wards of the defense personnel and some state-government (other than WB) nominated candidates. Moreover, a few foreign students are also admitted with nominations from central government agencies like ICCR. There is no NRI quota.

Accommodation is arranged in multi-seated Hostels and single-seated Halls for about 65% of the students. There are 15 hostels and Halls of which 2 are for the girl students. Due to paucity of 100% accommodation could not be provided at present. However, the University is trying build more halls (A new Girls hostel is being built) to make UG students mandatorily residential which was the norm up to mid 90s.

Financial Assistance is generously available for more than 50% of the UG students through different Government, well-wishers and Alumni-sponsored scholarships. For more information please see the Brochure for BE/BArch Admission.